FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

This is me

Ateca
Community Member

Hi, I want to tell you about me.

This will take a little while, but I'm hoping that by actually putting myself out there that it might be cathartic and allow me to move forward, so here goes.

I'm a 54 yr old woman, and I have been caring for others for 32 yrs now. First as a parent then as a carer for my parents also as a job as a dementia carer. Six years ago I did the palliative care for my Mum who had kidney cancer, I took on all the responsibilities, and when she passed I was unable to grieve as I had to continue looking after my two children and my Dad. And now six years later I still have not grieved. I was employed as a dementia carer but had to leave the job three months ago due to burnout after four years on the job. Now I look after my youngest daughter who suffers with mental health issues and my 81 yr old Dad who has been told he has if all goes well two years left. I try so very hard to display positive vibes for them both, I however am starting to struggle. The home we rent is owned by my sister, we have been renting it for over 22 yrs now, and I have just been informed that once our Dad passes my daughter and I will be evicted.

So now to bare my soul.

Because I never grieved my Mum and the fact that after getting close to my clients and being there for 19 of them passing away yet still not mourning, I feel like I'm broken in some way. I don't cry.

I'm constantly stressed and scared about my impending homelessness, my constant financial struggles, and the fact that I'll be dragging my youngest down with me. I can't voice any of this to my family as they don't need that on top of their own worries, and basically there is nothing they can do to remedy the problem.