FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Overwhelmed : Which way should I take next

SARA_M
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

I studied Engineering and migrated to Australia in 2007, after working for 7 years I havnt made much progress in my job and feeling wasted.

I had other passions in life , Art , Sociology, etc,

My Psychologist suggest I should do something in my field but more challenging to give me the feeling of growth.

I suggested Data Scientist.

But still thinking I dont have much time, Should I do data scientist or PHD in Sociology?

2 Replies 2

Smith042
Community Member
I feel like you gotta follow your heart. Do what you love. Data Scientists sounds kind of boring to me but if that's something you find fascinating do it. I'm unsure if a PHD in Sociology is likely to get you a good paying job though but that's just a guess. Oh, and time is unlimited so it doesn't matter how long it take if you enjoy it right?

therising
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Welcome SARA M

Seeing we humans are definitely fascinating and sometimes quirky creatures in regard to the way we tick, perhaps it's curiosity that leads you to consider sociology. Data science, engineering and art are also magnets to an analytical, curious and constructive mind.