FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New to This...kinda blue but its cold

Britbear
Community Member

Hello everyone,

Thought Id say hello even though I've been lingering in the background for a few months. It's been informative reading the updates and what stuff people are going through. I have been battling a lot lately with being down and left out and rejected quite a bit. I belong to the gay community and find it kinda sad that it's become harder to meet people who will make the effort to do the simple things like coffee and brunch. I'm an up kind of guy and think I'm friendly inviting people out left right and centre but to no avail. Its kinda getting repetitive and I find myself repeating past hurts and repetitive actions and responses when people let me down. Ive become wary and find it hard to trust new friends etc and its doin my head in.It kinda tears me up inside and some days its a struggle. What do you thing is my best options? Ive tried so hard to be inclusive but cant feel the same way instead.

14 Replies 14

Britbear
Community Member
Saying this I do have a wonderful partner but It kinda gets like a dripping tap talking to him all the time and If I tell him my frustrations it kinda gets him angry and upset that Im taking things too seriously. It seems to me that others see easy solutions and the answers to us seem fleeting and too difficult to break through the haze of our anxiety/depression. This is the first time Ive ever spoken publically about my concerns. Usually I do things that make me feel good like music, reading..cooking and that does help and active mindfulness techniques etc

Hey Britbear

Welcome and thankyou so much for having the courage to post !

Im Paul and if you can bear with me I will have a friend reply as soon as I can

Good on you for posting too!

Wont be long Britbear