FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New to the group, so I am saying 'hi'.

lookingforfreedom
Community Member
Hi there, I have known about Beyond Blue for a long time, but have only just joined today. I have anxiety, which flares up when I am not at work. I am tired of having anxiety, it is my ever present companion. It makes me feel very alone, I get cranky with kids, I don't want want to be close to anyone, I have the voices in my head telling me I am unlovable, annoying, not as good as everyone else. Of course, you won't see that from the outside. Externally, I am a successful professional, supportive husband, nice place to live, enough money to pay bills and save for a trip. I just wish I didn't feel this way on the inside. I don't think it will every go away...
1 Reply 1

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Lookingforfreedom, and welcome to the forums, it's never easy to decide when and if you decide to post a comment, but when you do, somehow it's a huge weight off your chest.

I'm so sorry that you are struggling with anxiety and even though you pretend to other people that all is OK, deep down it's not and when this unfortunately happens you shouldn't suffer by yourself and pleased you've come here and to ask us for help.

These annoying voices may and could be related to your anxiety in a particular way, and although I'm not qualified to diagnose you, they have often happened to me with an illness which is caused by this mental disorder.

Everyone has a different type of anxiety but each one is punishing and so cruel in their own form.