FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

living with partner who has anxiety and depression.

Stephane
Community Member

Hi everyone

this is my first time in a forum about mental illness.

i am 37, my wife who suffers from depression and anxiety is 32 was diagnosed last year even though it started many years before that.

i am here to talk to other carers, or people who are in relationships with people who have depression.

i understand that my wife goes through bad days, and worse days but i am also struggling to deal with the constant mood swings and loss of intimacy.

If there is anyone out there to chat, so that i can get some advice on how to keep my own sanity it would be much appreciated.

I am not trying to sound insensitive, i am just trying to keep my relationship alive.

Thank you kindly

7 Replies 7

MsPurple
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

HI Stephane and welcome to the forums

I myself have GAD, and some of my family members have bipolar. It can be tough living with people with a mental illness that you don't understand. I never understood the highs they would have. It can be hard and it is not insensitive to struggle as a carer at times. As long as you do your best it is all you can do.

I thought I'd share you a video on from the WHO about living with someone who has the black dog. I found it helpful: https://www.mhinnovation.net/resources/living-black-dog-video

I hope other carers come and offer you some support as well

RicardoD
Community Member
That takes great courage Stephane to write a post like that and I admire that you're reaching out into the forum for help. Unfortunately I'm on the other side with, thankfully, an understanding partner like your good self. I hope someone can give you the advice you need.

Pebblez
Community Member