FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I am not sure what I am feeling

deefunkysoul
Community Member

Hi, this is my first time to post on this forum. I’m 38 yo female. I’m actually not sure why I’m feeling really down lately, I feel really hopeless. I noticed that I just wanted to be on my own. I feel it is such an effort to appear ok to people. People have noticed as well that I’m distant. I wanted to be alone but at the same time I want someone 🤷🏽‍♀️ my thoughts are my enemy

8 Replies 8

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Deefunkysoul~

As a first time poster let me give you a warm welcome to the Forum. It was a pretty good move on your part as it gives you the chance to see how others have coped in similar situations, you are not alone.

Actually you remind me a lot of how I used to be when depression had become very bad. I too felt life was hopeless and my mind was filled wiht that . In fact depression took up so much of my thoughts I'd nothing left to cope with other people, so I tended to drive them away just to be on my own.

Of course I used a mask, so I'd tell everyone all was fine. It stopped them asking questions and seemed the  easiest thing to do. Looking back I got to see that just isolated me more, and at the same time I had the  feeling if I had to hide me from others then what did that say about me?

Have you considered going to your GP or otter professional  and in an extended consultation say how you have been feeling? It may be a start on feelng better. I found there was no way I could improve by myself, and in fact left things far too long before seeking professional assistance, making my treatment that much harder.

Even so now, while I'm still visiting my psych, I'm good and have a pretty reasonable life.