FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hi all!

continuousventer
Community Member

Hi, in spite of being a member since 2015, I haven't posted yet. I guess this is my first post.

I'm currently a first year university student, studying occupational therapy. I've been having mental health problems since 2015. While growing up, I had strict parents and I wasn't able to confide in them. I also grew up with not much and not much love, too.

My perspective of the world is complex, it's mainly about survival.
I don't really bother to tell the people closest to me because I don't think I have anyone close. My friend suggested this site for me because I've been having bad days. I think the days have gotten worse since I went to uni.

My sleep is interrupted. I feel this intense loneliness. I'm training to be a health professional but it's like I can't even take care of myself.

Thanks for reading!

4 Replies 4

smallwolf
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi continuousventer,

welcome to beyond blue and good for you for taking the plunge and posting.

parts of your post resonated with me, and depending on space I might write about this. But the first I want to mention to you is that you said that you want to be a health professional but cannot look after yourself. I am doing a counselling dip. at the moment, and have put a Bth on hold. I was talking about this with some BTh lecturers and the one comment that sticks with me is that having a lived experience means that you can or will have a greater understanding of what someone is going through. I think this would apply to you as well.