FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Dipping my toe in the water.

BrewRick
Community Member

Hi all.

This is my first attempt to reach out to the Beyond Blue community. 

I don't know where to start, but lately I've been conscious that my anxiety and depression is starting to take a hold. There have been many times that I've visited this website and always backed off, afraid to go any further. I've almost logged in to a live chat, but that familiar beast in anxiety won't even let me do that. I've even spent hours tonight contemplating whether or not I should post in a forum. 

So this is me, tentatively reaching out in the hope that I can start to interact with others that may be feeling the same way, and slowly get myself the help that I know I need, but am to afraid to do so. 

This is my first step, which I'm hoping will lead to getting the help I need to live the life I know I can live.

It's already somewhat helpful to read a few of the forum posts, which have given me the courage to start looking for help. At the same time, I read other posts and think that I have it easy compared to them, so should get over myself and think myself lucky. 

Although I've been vague in this post, I hope it is enough to start me on my first steps to becoming the person I know I can be, and not the hopeless one I feel now. 

Anyway, if you've read this far, thanks for taking the time.

3 Replies 3

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi BrewRick, welcome

Hope you get more out of this fabulous site and organisation.

I'm 60yo now and I've had emotional struggles all my life. Then in 1987 experienced a workplace incident that raised my anxiety and subsequent depression to alarming levels. I started on the road of eliminating my anxiety.