FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Medication

fastgirl_36
Community Member
I have just been given some medication to deal with my depression. It is said 'it gets worse before it gets better' is this true? How do i know what Im taking is right for me? 
4 Replies 4

Jacko777
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi fastgirl-36,

I am no expert, I could be wrong,  but I don't think it should 'get worse before it gets better.' Hopefully the doctor that prescribed your medication would have made you aware to keep an eye out for side effects. In my experience it can take a few go's to find the best match between the meds and your specific depression. I would presume that your doctor has considered your condition and prescribed what he/she thinks is right for you.

Hey how are you going mate? You have obviously been having a tough time, we are all ears if you want to talk. So is this the first time you have been prescribed medication for your depression?

If in doubt don't hesitate to ring the Beyond Blue phone service, it's free and 24/7 and there are people there that can help you. Talk any time.

Jack

fastgirl_36
Community Member
Yeah I have been having a pretty rough time at the moment. The depression has been taking over everything and ruining more than it should. I am normally a funny, bright and strong person -now I dont even know who I am anymore. 

dear Fastgirl, welcome to the BB site, and what you have posted is that normally when someone starts taking an antidepressant it's psychosomatic that they feel better, whether or not this is true, time will tell.