FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Partner lies about her drinking

archiebald
Community Member

Hi,

I’m new to this and this is the first time I’ve reached out for help as I don’t know what to do.
My partner has a drinking problem and I don’t know what else to do. She is such a wonderful person when she’s not drinking, great mum to our small kids but is a totally different person when she drinks. She has been hiding her drinking from me, sneaking drinks during the day while looking after our kids and even when I’m home. I find empty bottles of wine all the time, and when I confront her she gets so angry at me, accusing me of spying on her. The arguement always then switches to my spying on her and not her drinking.
She can also change from realising she has a problem, to then it’s not illegal so there’s no problem at all. She refuses to see that it’s a problem and I feel i can’t leave her as we have 2 small kids, I feel I could never leave her alone with them.
I’m absolutely stuck for ideas, I understand it’s a disease and she needs to be the one to recognise this, but what do I do in the mean time for my own mental health and trying to protect my kids from this. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

1 Reply 1

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Archiebald, it's not so much spying on her, although that's what it seems to be for her, it's your concern on why she needs to do this behind your back and be a cupboard drinker.

I was also one of these drinkers when suffering from depression and didn't like any of my family searching hiding places, but now know it was out of concern as they weren't sure why I had to drink behind their back, but with my depression, no one seems to understand unless you're a trained professional.