FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

(Trigger warning) How do I talk to my parents about self harm urges?

...Gekota
Community Member
Hi, I’m new to all of this forum and I’m not to sure what to expect but I thought if anyone can help it would be people who understand. I’ve been self harming for around a year or so I had been, after my parents found out along with some other complications concerning my mental health, they made me stop. I still have constant self harm urges most days and more then once. I don’t want to stop, I know that’s wrong, well I don’t but that’s what people tell me. I can’t stop thinking about it and I’m not able to talk to my parents about it or my therapist. Self harming helped me in some ways and I don’t know how to explain it but I don’t want to stop. I haven’t told my parents that I continue to feel as though I need to do more because I’m unsure how. I don’t know what to do, please help.
4 Replies 4

Sophie_M
Hi Gekota,

Thank you so much for taking the brave step of sharing what must be very confusing urges and thoughts . We know it isn't easy to take such a step but it is so important that you have.

Members of our valued online forums community give and recieve support to one another based on their own experiences with mental health, some of which will be similar to yours. While the support offered here is often quick in the grand scheme of things, it is not immediate. So if you are looking for more immediate support, we'd recommend reaching out to our friends at KidsHelpline on 1800 55 1800 or via webchat here https://kidshelpline.com.au/get-help/webchat-counselling.

Professional mental health counsellors from our Support Service are attempting to reach out to you via email as we are worried about you.