FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Announcement Icon
You can win one of three $200 gift cards. Complete our survey by 5pm, 30 June 2024 AEST to enter the draw. Your response will be anonymous so you can't be identified.

Hi... I'm new to seeking help

MelelmOo
Community Member
I'm 36. I have bipolar disorder and obsessive compulsive disorder. I'm medicated for both. I have 3 kids and a loving partner, however I am the sole income provider. I do this now because I know I have the most earning potential between us, but if things went really bad, I don't know how we'd pay the bills. My son died in 2013, so I feel like I'm hanging on by a thread... But what I'd really like is to say "I can't do this anymore" and it eventuate in me not having to be the income provider, or if I just ended my life, because my children would still have their biological parents to go to. (No kids by my current partner, but we've been together since the baby was 2.

3 Replies 3

Sophie_M
Welcome to the Beyond Blue forums MelelmOo, 

Thank you for having the strength to reach out and share your journey with us here. We acknowledge that this isn't always an easy thing to do. We're so sorry to hear about the loss of your son in 2013. We can't imagine how painful this must be. We can also hear that you hold a lot of responsibility in your family and that this causes you a great deal of stress. We want you to know that we're here to provide you with as much support, advice and conversation as you need.

Our Support Service is trying to reach out to you via email as we are worried about you.