FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

What makes you proud of your ethnicity?

blueskye
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi everyone! ❤️

This is my first time starting a thread and I'm excited to hear what others have to say about - What makes you proud of your ethnicity?

Please take a couple of minutes to reflect about this topic and then share with others.

Australia is a gorgeous place to live in and I'm proud to be an Australia. What makes me proud of my Chinese ethnicity though is that Chinese food is amazing! Dumplings, Dim Sum, etc.... some of the food looks wacky but gosh, very yummy!

I am also super proud of my parents who immigrated to Australia. Dad is fluent with English because he studied in Canada but my Mum came to Australia without knowing how to speak or read English. Dad worked in a white people dominated place, so he worked extra hard to prove his worth. Mum raised her 3 young daughters in a country that was foreign to her. Sometimes when I get mad at my mum when we have a disagreement, I try and remind myself of the difficulties she faced in the past. If someone chucked me in a foreign country where I had to live, buy groceries, catch public transport (mum didn't know how to drive for the first couple of years), didn't know the language.... that's scary! My parents make me proud to be Chinese.

Your turn! 🙂

14 Replies 14

Doolhof
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Ethnic backgrounds and roots can run deep in some communities. My ancestors arrived in this country due to persecution in Europe in the 1850s.

My husband and I moved to this region 5 years ago, a place my ancestors once called home and where they fought hard to make a new life for themselves.