FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

A struggle beyond words

StephanieT
Community Member

I've struggled for years now with my mental health. My depression all too consuming, that sometimes I feel it is too much for me. To know I am not alone in my journey is something that kind of makes it easier. Support has become my hope, so I am writing on here to show anyone out there without the support that people care for you, including me. I use to be scared to talk about my depression or let people know that I am not okay, but hiding from the truth does no good. Mental illness is just as important as any other illness, so I am no longer ashamed of what I have, I have learnt to accept it. This is not something I chose, the depression chose me. I've come to terms with the fact that I have a chemical imbalance in my brain and taking tablets each day is just something I need to do in order to function.

The other day I had a terrible day and decided to write down what depression felt like for me. I am going to share it on here to show others that you're not alone and I know exactly how it feels day in and day out.....

"I’m struggling more than words can describe. The pain is overwhelming, my mind is suffocating. I try my best to fight but sometimes I consider whether there is anything worth fighting for anymore. The pain in my head can be unbearable, almost consuming. A dark cloud that swarms over me out of nowhere, but always lingering around. Somehow, I manage to push through every time; a strength stronger than anyone could ever imagine. Almost beyond words. "

We are the strong, we fight everyday, I am proud of myself and I can only hope that this message reaches at least one person in need.

1 Reply 1

jess334
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi StephanieT,

Welcome to the BeyondBlue forums.