FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

University & Social Anxiety

KitEmily
Community Member
University & My Future Stressing Me Out.

Originally I started studying a BFA with a local uni, and hated it. My social anxiety really flared up, and I was having multiple panic attacks in class. I felt isolated alone, literally had no friends and could tell the teachers thought I was odd.
(Just so you’re aware I have social anxiety, anxiety, and I’m on the autism spectrum).

After the worst year of my life at uni I transferred and continued my studies online which I enjoyed.
Now I’ve finished my degree and am going to be doing my postgrad Masters, but I am stressing about what uni I will go to. I’ve applied to one local uni (the same one as the one I hated but a different campus) and several really good online unis. Though I love the idea of being online, I would really like to meet new people (face to face and make friends).
If I decide to study online what are ways I can actually make friends ?
And the thought of studying on campus makes me sick I honestly don’t know if campus study would help me or push me back to how I was before...
Thanks
Kit
4 Replies 4

Birdy77
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hello Kit,

Well done on having the determination to continue your studies despite enduring the worst year of your life. That shows great inner strength.

I also really enjoy studying online. It's great that you've decided to continue on to do your Masters. I can understand wanting to stay as an online student rather than risk spiralling down again. That said, you may find you have more confidence now to try out being on campus.

If you decide to do your studies online again, you could meet people by:

• joining a local art society, or an art society attached to the uni;
  • volunteering at an art gallery