FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

School Camp

Av123
Community Member

Hi, 

My daughter suffers anxiety. 

She is 14 and this week was meant to go to school camp which is 5 nights.

She didn't end up going with the rest of her class but is now thinking of joining them half way through the camp, having only 2 days left. 

Would that be a good idea or will that make it worse for her socially ? 

1 Reply 1

HappySheep
Community Member

Hi Av123, If she wants to join them, I say 'go, join them!'.

If she has an Anxiety disorder, it's possible she will have it on and off her whole life, or lurking in the background. (Disclaimer: It's possible she also just has a teen angst/puberty- type problem that she'll grow out of and never experience again, too - I'm not a doctor and don't know your daughter)

Either way, the more she can learn to live with the anxiety, the more she will get out of life.  Anxiety can lead to hiding in your house and being too afraid to try anything. If she can learn to face it and live with it, even a little bit, she'll have a much more enjoyable teenage-hood.

I've had Anxiety since I was a teenager and sometimes it's crippling, but mostly it's not.  I am (in some ways) thankful that (back in the Dark Ages before we diagnosed such things) I had a mother who pushed me into everything because I learnt that - it doesn't matter how frightened you are, you've got to give things a go.  People tell me I'm brave and adventurous - no, I'm usually terrified but I refuse to let that stop me having a life.