FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Panic attacks

Miacruiser
Community Member
Hi, I’m new to all of this but I need advice and support a couple of months ago I started having panic attacks (which I didn’t know what they were) until my dr diagnosed me and he has put me on medication starting on low dose I’ve only been on them for 1 week but I haven’t been out of the house as I’m scared to have a panic attack, does anyone have suggestions what I can do to get back into normal activities?
5 Replies 5

PamelaR
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Miacruiser and welcome to Beyond Blue

You've made a start on how to manage your panic attacks. You've found your way to our forums and posted. That's not easy, so you've done well!!

I'm not a health professional, though I have lived experienced with PTSD, anxiety and depression. So I'm happy so share some of my coping mechanisms with you.

When I first started taking medication, it took about 4-6 weeks to take effect. It doesn't happen overnight. If things haven't improved by about 8 weeks then I'd return to the doctor and talk about it. Sometimes a change of medication is necessary.

During those 4-6 weeks there are lots of things you can do to help reduce the feelings of panic. Slowing my breathe, breathing through my diaphram and counting to myself as I do helps enormously. The reason this works is, there is a mechanical reaction in your gut to the slowing of the breath. This reaction helps to moderate the flow of adrenaline that's arisen because of the fright/flight response. It takes awhile to get the hang of it if you're not use to breathing into your diaphram.

Other tips include - grounding, mindfulness, exercising, eating healthly. One good tip is writing in a journal (or journaling for short).