FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New to site.Need some advice

Adman
Community Member

Hi all im new here and seeking advice i have been diagnosed with anxiety for about 8 years and been on meds ever since.I have been having problems sticking to a goal like consistent exercise and have been putting on weight for years.I was a good trainer and was very athletic prior to 1. glandular fever 2. chronic fatigue 3. Depression then 4. anxiety,i still seem to be a good trainer but i cant seem to stick to it.If i look back over a few years i have started many types of exercise programs and clubs and always start strong but just seem to slowly back out.This alone makes me anxious.Is this just me or is this common with people with anxiety.

I also have a job that is quite stressful and find when the pressure is on i become withdrawn very tired and loose interest in most things, hopefully someone on here can help.

3 Replies 3

integrityguy
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hey there

Sorry to hear about your struggles. I hope you can find the strength and motivation to carry on, in spite of everything.

As a fellow anxiety sufferer, I use the gym as a means of keeping my mental health in check. Ironically enough, late last year the gym itself became a cause of my anxiety. My trainer gave me a new fitness program which I slowly began to realise was beyond me, but I couldn't find the courage to tell him so. Most of the time I ended up lying on the floor of the toilet cubicles at the gym gasping for breath, fighting nausea and the urge to throw up. I convinced myself that my only options were to keep doing the program or quit the gym altogether.