FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Leaving Work at 50yo and moving states.

rhysiee
Community Member

I've been a teacher with my school for 16 years. I have been the teacher librarian at the school and have had many traumatic experiences with bullying and intimidation from executive staff in the past 16 years. 5 years ago I was finally given my own autonomy with my curriculum. But this year my new supervisor decided to change this on me and my curriculum is no longer library based and instead a extension of literacy from class. I find it very difficult to teach it as it's out of my expertise and on top of that, I feel like my teaching identity has been stripped from me.

Now I've decided to take long service leave from Week 5 in Term 2 and Leave Without Pay from Term 3 for 12 months. I'm going nuts with anxiety that I'm doing the wrong thing but at the same time I'm relieved that I'm not going to be around in a very toxic environment. I'm worried I won't cope with the change and that I will not find a suitable job. It's been a difficult process with the Qld Dept of Education which is where I'm off to, I have heaps of paper work to find and get cited by a JP or similar. I'm freaking out and if I do finally get my teaching approval in Qld, I still have to get past the ickiness of casual teaching. I'm not sure how I'm going to do this.

8 Replies 8

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Rhysiee, I'm sorry for being in this situation, but felt as though you needed to and that's understandable, however, if I can suggest during this time off you get the help you may need to try and restore your confidence by seeing your doctor, who may also suggest a 'mental health plan', which entitles you to 10 Medicare paid sessions to visit a psych.