FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I didn't know who to talk with....

Ezzaegg
Community Member

Hello,

I'm currently studying my Masters in Teaching (secondary) alongside working part-time (four days a week). I having an awful time and I don't know what to do. It impedes with my exercising schedule - the one thing that actually makes me happy - my weekends are dedicated to staring in front of the computer screen, I feel tired all the time, and I'm extremely anxious about gaining weight on my placement periods. I have one coming up at the end of August. I do have an eating disorder that I have been living with for almost 11 years now.

What's worse, I don't even know if I want to be a teacher anymore and I have no idea what else I could pursue. I feel tired and cranky all time. I feel like I would be letting myself down and the people supporting me. Sometimes I wish I could rewind a couple of years and change a few decisions I had made that have caused to end up where I am now.

Sometimes I get so sad and I know it effects my partner. I don't know what to do or who to talk with. I feel a little bit alone with my feelings.

2 Replies 2

smallwolf
Community Champion
Community Champion

Ezzaegg,

Hi. Welcome to beyond blue.

Studying and working part-time can be tricky. I did my Masters part-time many years ago, and now doing a 2nd degree part-time. And I can imagine there are other stresses in teaching also?

However, I will pick out some key words from your post (if that is OK)... sad, cranky, tired, anxious. These are some of the feeling I had before I saw a GP and was then referred to a psychologist. Before making an appointment with to GP I also did the K10 test at the beyond blue web site. You might like to try the test out yourself? It will give you a recommendation re actions to take based on the result.