FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

End of the world, or not...

Nedkelly990
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

I'm very new to this and like i previously said to another guy I'm not even sure if what I'm dealing with can be called anxiety or whether I'm just a nut.

Im thinking I can trace this back to my time as an infantry soldier in the army when I deployed to Afghanistan. I haven't suffered from PTSD or anything but now that I'm out of the army I'm constantly concerned about how my own personal actions will effect these things that I stress about. Namely the end of the world!

I'm constantly stressed about how much power I use or how much petrol I use or how much water I use, this stresses me out because I feel so strongly as if the world is going to end sometime in my lifetime. Or just around the corner. That we'll run out of oil and our society will crumble or something ridiculous like that.

It affects me every day in a lot of things that I do. I can't talk to my wife about it she just thinks I'm a nut when I talk about the world ending. But it's something I legitimately worry about every day. There is always horrible stuff all over the media and the news and it's impossible to get away from and it just fuels my reasoning.

I guess what I'm looking for out of this post is maybe someone who can relate, and a bit or clarity about whether what I'm feeling is in fact anxiety.

Thanks

4 Replies 4

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

hi  NK

I never was deployed overseas but I did serve in the RAAF, a prison officer at Pentridge Jail, security for many years and so on. No I cant relate to your activities in the middle east but I can relate to your dim view of the world.