FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Constantly feel like I'm up against a brick wall

_Mumof3_
Community Member

Hi all,  I'm quite new here and really am at a loss.

I have a young teenager who I have been raising on my own for the last 11 years.  Her Dad is there, in another state to us but really isn't helping at all.  She's lucky if she sees him once a year now, although they do talk on the phone regularly.

She has been living with anxiety for the last 5 years, with it becoming increasingly bad this year. It is now affecting her sleep and her schooling. Emotionally she is a mess and will be starting to see a counsellor again.  We have tried a few counsellors in the past, unfortunately she did not feel comfortable with them.

I have thought about homeschooling her next year to take some of that extra pressure off her and really focusing on her mental health, which I feel is so important.

Unfortunately her father does not agree!  He thinks he can push her and she'll 'just get over it'

I'm tired of hearing 'she just needs to harden up'. 

He is not supportive at all in regards to her anxiety, lack of sleep and her mental wellbeing in general.

I have tried to have conversations with him in regards to how bad things are with her mental health and anxiety and I am constantly shut down. 

I live with this daily and it breaks my heart to see what my daughter is going through.

Am I doing the right thing for her in regards to considering homeschooling?

I feel like I am constantly bashing my head against a brick wall.