FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety over having kids

anony1357
Community Member
Does anyone have experience with or advice for someone who is highly anxious about starting a family? I have always wanted this and planned for it but the last few weeks I have freaked out and nothing is calming me down. I have gone on meds and have a psych but I feel like I need reassurance that anxious people have gone through this and still had a family and been ok.
10 Replies 10

Peppermintbach
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi anony,

I hope it’s okay if I extend a caring welcome to you to the forums. Good on you for posting...

You sound very anxious, worried and scared. Admittedly, I have no personal experience in this area but I still wanted to try to acknowledge your post, and offer my thoughts. I hope that’s okay with you...

I was thinking maybe you might like to see if there are any local family planning services near you that might be able to offer some support. Also, if you haven’t already, I was wondering if you have spoken to your GP about your plans to have children. I feel it would be helpful if you also tell your GP about your worries and fears and ask if s/he can refer you to a counsellor/psychologist. Just some gentle suggestions...

I hope you’re finding your way around the forums okay. Sometimes it can be very helpful to let out our feelings in posts, vent, connect, etc so please feel free to write as often as you like. I hope we hear from you again if you feel comfortable to chat.

Kind and caring thoughts,

Pepper

Alexlisa
Community Member

Hello anony.