FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety - First Time Posting!

Minnie3
Community Member

Hi everyone.

This is my first time posting and discussing my anxiety.

I get really sensitive to some things in everyday life. I think I have social anxiety I hate the thought of being criticized or being humiliated. I tend to have panic attacks in two main situations. The first when being out around big crowds of people. I feel like I can't breathe, that everyone is looking at me and sometimes unsafe.

I tend to have panic attacks at night in bed about the thought of falling asleep. sometimes I won't sleep until 5 am in the morning.

Does anyone have any advice or suggestions?

2 Replies 2

Peppermintbach
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi Minnie,

I hope you don’t mind if I extend a very caring welcome to you to the forums. I think this is a huge first step for you as this is your first time posting and discussing anxiety. I feel that is enormously courageous but it might also feel nerve racking too...mixed feelings perhaps...

It sounds like busy public spaces can trigger a panic attack in you. Those places must be so stressful and feel so overwhelming to you...

Your night/bed routine also sounds very rough. I feel not being able to sleep till 5am sometimes must take its toll both physically and mentally...I feel for you...

I hope it’s okay for me to share a gentle suggestion and you can see how you feel about it. I often think that a helpful starting point is making an extended appointment with your GP to discuss your struggles, and bring up the possibility of a mental health care plan. The mental health care plan entitles you to a certain number of Medicare rebatable visits to a psychologist. So perhaps this is something you might like to keep in mind...