FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety and can't breathe

Zac32
Community Member
Hey everyone

I'm new to this kind of thing and don't no what else to do I'm a 26 year old male quit smoking after 4 years about 4 weeks ago (and no i do not crave a ciggarette) and I have anxiety the doctor has put me on anti-depressants but can take weeks to work i need a imediate fix and have alot of thoughts but the main thing I'm stressing and panicking over is that I can't breath,my throat feels like it's closing and my breaths are shallow and when I take a deep breathe it feels like I can't fill my lungs up to the right capacity if thag makes sense it makes me panic alot and this has been going on for 3 days now I wake up in the middle of the night at lime 3am and instantly panic and can't breathe and I stay up the rest of the night worrying!

I constantly stay inside all the time and hate even going to my leter box

I hate where I live and will moving place help with the anxiety do you think?
Will excersise help?
Just really want to know what helps

Sorry if this has been covered alot

Thanks so much everyone

Zac
3 Replies 3

Nurse_Jenn
Community Member

Hi there Zac,

Welcome to the forum. I am sorry to hear you are experiencing so much worry. This sounds really exhausting. I would like to acknowledge your strength and offer you a congratulations on giving up cigarettes. It is a really difficult thing to do. There are physiological symptoms that result from tobacco withdrawal and these could possibly be contributing to your increased anxiety. You can read about these symptoms and what to expect each few days by using the MyQuitBuddy App or you could read about these symptoms on the website https://makesmokinghistory.org.au/why-should-i-quit/benefits-of-quitting