FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety after leaving a toxic work environment.

Lily-Ann
Community Member

Hi, I'm new to beyond blue.

I have started to feel really anxious lately and i worry that it may be effecting my new job. Firstly, i recently left a job that i have been in for over 6 years. At first it was great, over time it became a nightmare. I used to always feel physically ill when i woke up and had to go to work. I would find myself having horrible thoughts. I used to dread going into work. It was coming up to my wedding when i decided enough was enough! I quit my job because i felt it taking a toll on myself. Fast-forward to now, i have been recently employed in a similar role. However, the staff are wonderful and i have so much support. Although, i cant help but feel that i'm going to mess it up with my constant worrying. In my last job, i was told that i was never going to become a manager, and constantly felt like i was never good enough. I was working full-time, and i was entitled to sick leave. Whenever i took a day off, i was always guilted when i came back (I only took 6 days off in over 6 years). Coming back to my new job, i had to take a few days off because i was having some back problems. Although my boss is completely understanding, i cant help but feel guilty and continuously feel like i am going to lose my job. I am at a loss, and i feel like i need some advice.
Thank you for reading.

3 Replies 3

Tay100
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Lily-Ann

Thanks for posting here- we are a caring space, but posting about a personal issue like anxiety can be daunting, so it is great that you have been able to post here at all. Remember that.