FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Stuck in a deep rut of isolation

CusCus
Community Member

This is my first time ever visiting this website after considering it for a long time. I just felt like I needed to get this off my chest but at the same time don't feel too comfortable bringing it up with my family members.

As the title suggests, at the moment I feel as if I am stuck in the social aspect of my life. I'm now going into my second year of university and realised I made no new friends that kept in touch from first year. As of late, I find it more and more difficult to make friends which I feel is related to my history of friendships.

Way back in primary school, I had a really tight group of friends (a squad haha) that would always meet up at class and every weekend and holidays. However, going into middle school, a huge amount of new students entered our year, and so our group sort of split up. While everyone seemed to find their own group of friends, I was the only one who was caught in the middle and couldn't quite fit in to a single group. All the way through to Year 11, people told me I seemed so charismatic and confident, but in reality I was crying on the inside. I didn't have a best friend and anyone to confide in.