FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New here

Arion
Community Member

Hi all,

I'm new here, I am a naturally introverted person and I think I suffer from anxiety and social anxiety and maybe depression. I often feel anxious about things and worrisome about the slightest stressful thing. However I am not sure how to go about solving this entirely. I have tried various self help methods with some success, but I want to fully be able to cope with or reduce the anxiousness.

Just wanted to introduce myself.

10 Replies 10

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Arion, welcome to the forums and thank you for posting your comment.

Not able to be in a place where there are plenty of people and the noise is bombastic can make someone be an introvert and then develop social anxiety, although I'm not a qualified doctor to be able to mention this, but it can make you too nervous to text or approach someone you want to and then social anxiety forms.

Self help methods can be good and treatable for social anxiety, the problem is that when if for any reason we become stuck in a situation we are unable to cope with, these self help methods aren't suitable to handle this crisis, simply because we stop doing them, that's why a psychologist will teach you different ways to be able to cope with each one when it happens.

Don't be afraid of your doctor, they have many people who are in the same position as you and have been able to help them.

Can I suggest you write down everything that concerns you, then hand this over to them, this will help you in trying to explain, let them begin your help process.

Best wishes.

Geoff.

amberlite
Community Member