FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hi All - new member / advise needed

Resocha
Community Member

Hi Everyone,

I have been battling depression and anxiety since I was 7 years old, and I am now 29. This has mainly been caused by years of school bullying and the lack of action / protection by schools and adults in my life.

Since finishing high school in 2008, my condition deteriorated further and I have built up anger towards my former school. I want to send the principal (who is the same as when I was at school) an email explaining what happened and the long term effects it's had on me, since back in the day nobody would ever speak to me about the problems or try to help. A lot of the reason I want to send this, is to get it off my chest, but I'm hesitant about if I should go ahead.

I would appreciate peoples opinions if I should go ahead with this, and what I should include.

Thanks in advance 🙂

Dan

7 Replies 7

Guest_1643
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Dan,

Welcome!
I think it's amazig that you want to send a letter to the school -to me that shows that you are able to acknowledge what happen and speak up for yourself as a child.
What do you want from the school? As long as you are okay that if it doesn't happen - you'll be able to accept that too then I think it's fine to send a letter or email.
Speak up in a way that feels okay for you, when you feel okay for you and that it won't jeapordise your mental health. It's your right to speak up, but you come first, so make sure you are safe and okay and strong enough to do it 🙂

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Resocha, I'm sorry for what has happened and yes, you are entitled to send an email to the principal, whether or not they act or respond to you, no one knows.