FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Day 1; Post1; Step 1

The_Observation
Community Member

Hi all. So I'm a newbie here and this is my first day and first post. I've struggled with depression for over 15 years and have gone through the entire gamete of ups and downs that go with it. I've been on meds for the past 6-7 years and I know that I'll be on meds for the rest of my life. I'm a very high functioning depressive and anyone who sees me would never know that anything was wrong. But I still carry a burden each day when work stops and the thoughts again begin to creep in.

I have a very good perspective of my condition, but this has taken a longtime to create. I'm very open in discussing it amongst friends and am an advocate for mental health discussions particularly amongst men. However, I still battle each day with ups and downs and the stigma surrounding mental health from a work perspective, as do many a depressive. The societal mask I wear is well worn, like an old shoe that that just feels comfortable and can't be discarded. Only those closest are aware of the thoughts that bounce around my mind when things quieten down. The stigma of shame associated with depression is still strong.

We need to breakdown the stigma that surrounds mental health in our society. To many voices go unheard until it's too late. Too many voices are with-held and internalised. The more we can converse in an open and supportive environment the stronger we can become, and the more voices we can hear.

Im looking forward to learning about others journeys and how they have grown and thrived and sharing my stories to help others who feel they can't get there.

4 Replies 4

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear The_Observation~