FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

What to do next

seanwild
Community Member

Hi this is my first time posting. Im 58 and have had GAD all my life, been taking medication continuously for just short of 20 years and off and on since I was a late teen. Ive seen psychologists and am currently seeing a psychiatrist. I have learnt cognative techniques such as ACT, breathing, safe place imagery where I use affirmations and relaxation to feel better about myself. I recently went a new psychologist to understand if there any other techniques that I could learn as I was feeling overwhelmed and going into a slump for the third time in 3 years, his advice was that my anxiety trick bag was full and made the correct comment that I was worn out and close to not being able to work. I have changed medication type twice and increased the doseage 3 times for each, each time makes feel rock bottom and disoreientated for 3-4 weeks before I come good and this time I wanted to see if I could turn the corner without changing medication - Im up to week 4. What annoys me the most is I am unable to tell when I am about to fall into a slump and that's when the intrusive thoughts start, it is so debilitating as it impacts my ability to think clearly and concentrate at work, my memory of things said and written becomes poor and I have no energy other than to force myself to work. I do not get panic attacks, I feel sorry for those that do but I sometimes wish that was the type of anxiety I suffered from, if taking a tablet dissapated the feeling and I was able to be myself as soon as the medication took effect (bet it is not that easy) I want to claw back to feeling OK about myself and my loved ones. I walk regularly, have stopped drinking alcahol and coffee, backed off on the sugar, eat well but not as regular as ideal, in my head I beleive th