FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Symptoms of anxiety

Clare123
Community Member
I have been having bouts of vomiting and nausea for some time now, muscle tension, weakness in my legs and really bad headaches -dr has ruled out anything medical and has diagnosed me with anxiety I am finding really debilitating I now realise my fast heart rate in the past was all tied into anxiety -just wondering if anyone has had the same symptoms and what coping mechanisms has worked dr has suggested going on ssri and seeing physchologist -the symptoms are horrible anyone experienced the same 
5 Replies 5

Neil_1
Community Member

Dear Clare

Welcome to Beyond Blue and thank you for coming here and providing your post.

That’s an interesting diagnosis from the Dr that you went and saw – and now I am NO professional expert, but with those things, if they were happening to me, I would be thinking of some kind of virus;  perhaps.   If I then received the above advice from a Doc;   I think my next move would be to seek out a completely different doc and go there for a 2nd opinion.

With regard to coping mechanisms, Clare are you finding any common things that might be setting your anxiety off in particular?    And this could be anything;   seeing people, going out in public, simply going outside;   going to work, driving, talking on the phone;   oh wow, the list could go on forever – but are there things you’ve found that are worse for you to do??    And in regard to that, is there any chance of either (a) not doing them  or  (b) if you can’t avoid doing them, is it possible to say, have a friend with you, to help you get through/by??

Thought I’d send this now and I do hope to hear back from you on this.

Neil

Clare123
Community Member