FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Is it anxiety or depression?

Kyra13
Community Member

Hi All

I'm a newbie to the site and seeking some clarification from those who have real life experience of anxiety and/or depression.

I have been to my GP and a psych for what they believe is depression and stress but I feel it is more an anxiety issue. It's not that I get a racing heart or classic panic attacks which is what they seem to look for as indicators of anxiety. Instead my anxiety causes a physical/mental/emotional shut down. I know I am an overthinker and a perfectionist (without EVER getting things perfect.. Lol). I place high expectations on myself especially academically and at work. I always feel like I'm underachieving and should be doing things better.

Simple things like sorting paperwork and tidying up create so much angst that I have to walk away from it as I feel like I'm going to be consumed by fear. I dread going out and meeting new people. I feel like I have no life experience worth sharing with others. I even question myself about being on the Autism spectrum or ADD because I am familiar with these conditions through my work.

Does anxiety always have to be associated with a racing heart and panic attacks or can it be a fear based? I want to improve my life but I feel trapped by this stupid fear!

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks 🌸

3 Replies 3

Just Sara
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi and welcome to our caring community Kyra;

Your question about anxiety vs depression is a common one. I'm so glad you decided to come on board so you can discuss this relevant and important issue.

I've experienced both, but anxiety/panic are my main symptoms. In all honesty I'd rather it than depression any day.