FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling like I’ve wasted 4 years on a degree for nothing

JJ_77
Community Member

This is my first time posting here so I’ll give it a go.

I have recently completed a degree that has very little job prospects and so far nothing has come of it.

Today I got my date for my graduation and I am dreading it. I do not feel accomplished as nothing has come of it and I believe that nothing will ever come of it.

I worked unbelievably hard for 4 years to have little to no job opportunities and I just feel anxious all the time about what the future holds and what I will be doing if I truly never get a job in the field I am trained.

I currently work in retail and I constantly have people asking me why I’m still there and why I don’t have a job with my degree and I just can’t take it anymore.

My family say “it will work out” but I really really don’t think so.

I am also worried that because I am so negative that I am just going to ruin any chances because I am so opposed to the idea that things may work out.

I am anxious about not getting a job and also anxious that being negative about not getting a job will ensure I don’t get a job.

I wish I could just see into the future of what will happen and not knowing keeps me up at night and makes me cry.

sorry for the ramble.

7 Replies 7

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear JJ 77~

Welcome here to the Support Forum. I think it was a good idea for you to come here. You can read other people's perspectives on your situation, and as they are not your parents -parents tend to be duty bound to say nice things irrespective - you can take those perspectives seriously.