FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety about doing the wrong thing

Louise24
Community Member

Hi all,

I am new to this blog but have been reading through it and have an immediate sense of relief knowing that others who suffer from severe anxiety like myself have been getting the right help and have/are finding ways to cope.

I seem to have panic attacks when I think I have done the wrong thing and I can't relax until I know that what I did isn't an issue or that it won't hurt anyone or hurt me.

sometimes there is no way of knowing or finding out if I have done the right or wrong thing and so I overthink it for days on end until something else comes up that makes me anxious and so I forget about my other worries.

I have been unable to work due to this and have started taking medication and getting professional help, but does anyone else suffer from this?

Does anyone have any advice on how to manage this?

much appreciated, thanks!

33 Replies 33

Meowface
Community Member
Hi Louise, I recently joined too and I think a lot of readers will relate to those consuming thoughts and worry. I was bullied at a workplace years ago and it left me quite traumatised when making mistakes at work. If I made a mistake or thought I'd made one I would start to sweat profusely (attractive...not), my mouth would dry up, my heart would beat so fast I could hear it in my ears and I'd shake. I'd think of the worst case scenario like I'd get fired or go to jail (??? this makes no sense I know) and just freeze. I found therapy really helpful to overcome this and worked with a psychologist referred by my GP - it was Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT) which helped me understand my feelings better. If you haven't spoken to someone yet I would definitely encourage you to.

MarkJT
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member