FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Social Anxiety

sarah272
Community Member
I'm new to this site and have been struggling with social anxiety, probably since high school. I am now in my second year at university and have only recently just started to see a psychologist. I have days were its not so bad, but most of the time i sit in my tutorials and just feel really anxious. I always think people are watching me and like today i get this thing where somedays I just pretend I'm on my phone when walking in public to avoid eye contact. A few times I've even felt to anxious that I had to vomit, since i did in front of my boyfriend I'm scared that it will happen again and now its grown into this huge thing where i don't eat in public places. I haven't written on a forum, so not really sure what else to put. Why won't it just go away, i know that i shouldn't be anxious and all that but i just cant. I've been with my boyfriend for almost 9 months, recently I've been feeling really worried that he will get to the point where he just won't be bothered anymore and will leave me. I know its irrational thinking but it just won't go and i get really upset with myself. Thanks for reading x
4 Replies 4

Chris_B
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Sarah,

Welcome to the forums. Social anxiety is a really common problem, so you shouldn't have too much trouble finding others here who can understand what you're going through. Check out some recent threads below for insights and feel free to strike up some conversations with our other members:

Social anxiety - by Katie101

Social anxiety at school - by Gtwow

Social anxiety - by clouise

Social anxiety - by Jukee

I can't handle the social anxiety anymore - by kelliew

Doolhof
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Sarah,