FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Should I move back to my old school?

shnl
Community Member

Hi, I'm a Year 9 student who's not too fond of my new school

So I recently moved to a private school that was about 30 minutes away by car. Meaning I would wake up really early in order to get ready for school, which was one reason I didn't like it.
The second reason was that the school as it turns out was quite racist. I didn't fit in anywhere because a case came up recently where I was called the N-word. I, of course, reported it to the teachers and they gave punishment the student. But now almost everyone in my grade thinks I'm a snitch.
The people I do hang out with are as bad because they vape and get into trouble multiple times a day, even trying to invite me into some of their shenanigans.
The reason I joined the new school was that my old school had a terrible reputation and there were students in my class that didn't let me work. So when my parents decided on transferring me to a better school jumped at the opportunity.

I complained to my mum about the new school to the point where she asked the office if we could switch campuses or get a refund on the school
Note that this is a very expensive private school with two campuses
So they put on me on a waiting list to switch campuses and gave us a card if we wanted to get a refund.
During this stage, she was sick of all my issues so she finally asked me if I wanted to go back to my old school, now that we could possibly get a refund.

I didn't want to rush into a decision as I did with the new school so I thought it through with old friends. 
And as it turned out, the bad people in my old school class had been expelled
I don't want to wait to switch campuses because I definitely won't get a spot in the other campus this year