FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

My life is going nowhere

LobsterTimpani
Community Member
Made an account purely because I need to be heard. I’m 23 years old and work a minimum wage job I hate because it was the only place out of 100 odd jobs I’d applied for that even bothered to give me an interview, I have a bachelors degree in a useless field that has gotten me nowhere that I only enrolled in because of my low ATAR and prompting from parents, I don’t have any family or friends (ones I do have I’m no longer on speaking terms with), all in all I’m miserable all the time. I just want to drop everything and simply aimlessly wander the country, I can’t take another year of this drudgery. I don’t want to spend the rest of my life as the complete failure I am now and while I acknowledge it won’t last forever I don’t see any light of hope at the end of this dark tunnel that is my current experience. I want to go back to school and earn a degree in a field that will actually provide me with decent work, but I’ve been so badly burned by my previous degree that I’m too afraid to go further into debt and waste my time on another three years of useless “education”. All I want is just a bit of hope. That’s all. I hate myself so much. Why should my life be this frustrating? I don’t have any happiness
3 Replies 3

Emmen
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello LobsterTimpani,

I'm sorry to hear what you're going through. It's difficult and upsetting when you feel hopeless about your situation and moreover have no social support to make you feel better.