FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Life of chaos and mess

Grapejuice
Community Member

Hi,

As this is my first time posting on a forum, I just wanted to address how I have been feeling in the past few months, more so in the recent weeks. I am currently in year 12, who is about to graduate in less than a month, and frankly speaking I am utterly terrified as many young people who have no idea what their future would behold. Due to this, I have been feeling far more depressed and gloomy, hindering my motivation to move forward and complete the HSC.

I should probably mention that I have been suffering from depression, social anxiety and generalized anxiety for most of my life. However my mental health has intensified from last January, as these immediate thoughts of not being good enough and being a failure in life became repetitive and all time consuming. I have spoken to the school counsellor, but she continuously judged me in a very subtle way, saying I was not intelligent enough to understand that I cannot achieve anything without guidance. Besides none of the teachers believe I will go anywhere in life, for the reasons of having a brother with ADHD and autism, and for wallowing in my own self pity. Perhaps they have been somewhat correct in my case of failing.