FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I feel like everything is falling apart

Bon_14
Community Member

I’m a first year uni student, and when I was in high school I was at a really low point and began seeing a psychologist. I was diagnosed with OCD, social anxiety and severe depression. Most of the sessions were CBT and helped me figure out what was going on with my mental health and helped me cope with it in the short term. After awhile I wasn’t feeling as bad as I was but I also didn’t really overcome it. I was seeing a psychologist through Headspace but he left to open up his own practice with not much warning and I couldn’t afford to follow him. The idea of transferring and getting to know a new psychologist also freaked me out so I just stopped. I was better than I was but I wasn’t great, I still had little mostivation, I had trouble interacting with people, and I constantly overthought everything and had bad relapses every few months. But it was mostly manageable. Recently I’ve been trying to better myself by eating better and working out more, and I’ve tried to make more of an effort with people, as I used to cancel plans/avoid going out.

I had a breakdown after my “friend” said some hurtful stuff making me feel bad about my social anxiety which screwed with me because I shouldn’t have to feel bad about that and I’ve been trying best. But it did make me realise how bad my mental health has been lately.