FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

i can't do school anymore

Pale
Community Member

So just some background. I'm a year 11 student doing distance education. I moved from a normal school because I wasn't completing the work and usually wasn't going to class due to mental issues. Still not entirely sure what I'm officially diagnosed with but I think it's depression. Also ASD but I doubt that for some reason.

Now I'm doing senior over three years instead of two with only four subjects a year. Thing is, I can't even do that. I did okay last term; my grades were good. But now everything seems so pointless and I feel terrible all the time. I can barely get out of bed, so doing a massive history assignment seems futile. I miss my friends every day.

I'm so behind in my work. I never study anymore or complete my homework. I was given all of these second chances to do well and I don't even try because it seems impossible. Beginning to feel like I'm not fit to live in this world that values productivity so much when I'm so useless and lazy. I just want it all to stop.

Thanks for listening.

4 Replies 4

Sophie_M
Dear Pale,

Thank you so much for reaching out to us and telling us about how you're feeling right now. We're sorry you're going through such a difficult time just now.

Our Support Service is reaching out to you via email as we are worried about you.

Please know there is always help available to you. As you are working towards completing secondary school, you might find some of the information here helpful - https://www.youthbeyondblue.com/do-something-about-it/surviving-year-12. We'd encourage you to reach out to our friends at Kids Helpline who are available by phone on 1800 55 1800 and webchat at https://kidshelpline.com.au/ 24/7.