FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling like im a background character.

liltimmytim
Community Member
Hi, I'm new to this so I don't really know what to say but ill give it a go. I'm not young but younger than many people here (I'm in high school) so I feel like this isn't really valid or anything because some people can't even get up in the morning and I'm just complaining. Recently I was admitted to the hospital for self-harm and suicidal ideation, it was probably the worst experience I've ever had as it was forced by my school and 'friends'. Although the initial experience was horrible my abusive family became more aware and my parents really tried to stop and change. I also had an 'I don't care' attitude about everything afterward and it made me do some stupid things like give myself a stick and poke tattoo, but it also made me feel like I could keep living and do anything without the constant fear of ruining everything I've tried to achieve. With all that said, in the past couple days I've been feeling down and I've had a lot of time to think about everything and I've noticed that my friends say they're there for me always but they're really not; they only respond to me when they are bored and it's obvious they are tired of dealing with me. And I'm not going to act on this or anything so don't worry about it but I know for certain they would not care if I left and I feel like a burden to them. I've realized that I should find a new group of friends as this happens really often but I'm sick of having to switch friend groups because they don't care about me. They will get upset about something and I will comfort them like I would like to be treated but they don't open up to me; I'm pretty sure the reason for them being ignorant is the lack of a firm connection but I can't force them to open up nevertheless a f