FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

The Eventful life of FatT

FatT
Community Member

hi all,

I am 41 (almost 42) year old male who suffers from Depression and Anxiety.

I have a vision impairment. Legally blind in the right eye and not 100% in the left this has led to some confidence issues in some regards especilly in the area of having a career. After high School, I studied Accounting at Tafe and then continued to Study a Bachelor of Commerce majoring in accounting.

After finishing my degree I was unemployed for over a year which my depression was compounded by my Brother dying in a car accident. I remember I had the gamut of feelings at the time and one of the strongest feelings was "God had taken the wrong Brother.

Later that year I started seasonal work at a tax preparation business and I went on to get some sporadic work over the next couple of years. After another period of not getting work I decided to go back to uni and study a masters of Teaching and straight out of copleting this course I started a new accounting job. I was with this guy for 2 years. However working for this "Gentleman " was not good for my mental health. There were times where I was not paid to the extent that I would have been better off being on unemployment. And finally right on 2 years I had finally had enough. for the first time I quit a job. And I had lost all confidence in the possibility of dealing with children in the teaching profession.