FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Sudden Increase Of New Posters

Struggler
Community Member
Hi Everyone

Am I imagining it or not?  There seems to be a spike in new posters on BB.  So many troubled souls!  Does it have to do with gloomy winter?  I know my depression is made worse by short day, lack of sunlight, wet and cold condition that is the winter season.  

Struggler

17 Replies 17

--Danny--
Community Member

Hi struggler, I'm a newbie..only been on BB for 2 weeks or so...

Danny

Neil_1
Community Member

Hi Struggler (and Danny)

I don't think you're imagining it - I think it's definitely real.  There is an influx of newbies coming on board.

The reasons could be many and the season is definitely one of them I would think.

But the community is becoming more and more aware of this illness;   media is bringing more attention to it (and everyone of these things is a GREAT thing).

I know it is sad and unfortunate that there are so many wonderful people who are being affected by this - but I believe for every person that arrives here as a new person, I would imagine that say, this time a year ago, they may not have done so.  They may have just gone about how they were feeling and continue to do it tough with no further or outside assistance.  And you suggested quite rightly Struggler;  there ARE so many troubled souls.

But what I really believe to be super important is for these lovely people (IF) they can somehow manage to stay here with us - while we provide as much support and guidance to them - THEN, they might just feel that they may wish to stay on for a while.