FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Stuck with how to start finding help

Priiiysa
Community Member

Hi

This is my first time reaching out. I think I need some help. But every time I think about speaking to my doctor I just can’t do it.

I am frequently on the verge of tears and have a feeling of panic. I can’t shake the sense that everything is going to go wrong and thinking of all the bad things that could happen. I’m losing my temper more easily and snapping at people at work. I just want to stay in bed under a doona and cry but drag myself to work (essential worker) and run myself into the ground to distract myself.

I have a diagnosed autoimmune disease (10years) and cant stop worrying about the future and how my health will decline. I am also frightened of how much it will cost to seek help - I am single, live alone and have no family in this state. Spare money for therapy does not exist.

I’m not really sure the point of my post, apart from to start putting in writing how I feel. Some advice on how to be brave enough to find help and how to start the conversation would be appreciated.

Thank you

3 Replies 3

Petal22
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Priiiysa,

Wellcome to our forums!

Sorry you are feeling this way.

Your first step towards recovery is seeing your gp let your gp know how you have been feeling, you can do a mental health plan together this will enable you to see a psychologist… the first 10 sessions are usually free….

You are so much stronger than you think, so much stronger! Make an appointment with your gp and just be open with them and tell them how you are really feeling…… and how the way you are feeling is affecting your life….. your gp will understand… you could even write a list of what you want to talk about and read off the list..