FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Struggling to keep going

RISL
Community Member
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting as I've been to embarrassed and to afraid to speak about my social anxiety and depression incase it makes it worse. I don't really know what to say I'm a bad communicator. I just feel like I've been going through this for too long and nothing is going to change. I've almost lost my family at this point as for a long time I've tried to cover up my problems with substances only to make it so much worse, so at the moment the best thing I can do is get help with my addictions and the thing I struggle with about that is the fact that I have to go to rehab and be around other people. I haven't worked in quite a few years and finally come back home to my family got a job, got drunk before and during it and lost the job.. Its never ending and I just needed to ramble a bit. Sorry if it was all over the place..
8 Replies 8

yggdrasil
Community Member

Hi RISL,

Thank you so, so much for sharing your story on here. It's a really brave step to take opening yourself up like this. Just making the first step is really huge and you should be really proud. Not only will it hopefully help you get to a better place yourself, but it can really help others, who may be going through similar things.

From your post it doesn't seem like you're a bad communicator at all. You've shared your situation with openness and authenticity. Openness and authenticity is what the world desperately needs more of. You can really help others by being open and authentic in this way. I imagine most rehab services would include peer-support groups, and I suspect you would have a huge positive impact on such a group.