FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Overwhelmed with the levels of disruption in the world right now

Rach8
Community Member

Hello everyone,

I am new to this platform, but I'm in need of seeking some support or hearing from people who understand and are in a similar situation.

There is not much to say other than that lockdown has made its impact - It is making retaining connections will close relationships even harder, there is only so much a call, text or occasional face time can do to stay in a strong relationship with someone without having a physical interaction.

On top of the stress of keeping valuable relationships that are not at risk, is the stress of covid 19 itself. Although the case numbers are not alarming where I am, it's still scary to think about the repercussions if I, my family, friends or colleagues at work get it.

I can't fathom what is happening in Afghanistan right now, my mum talks about the threats it may impose on other countries including our own (things like suicide bombers and terrorist attacks in the future) as well as a boyfriend who talks about how influential this event may be. Although I have empathy for the entire situation, I am already stressed as it is, so hearing another layer of something else is very overwhelming and I don't really want to think about it. I know this probably is coming across as bad.

Although most of my university studies were online before the lockdown, now that all my time is at home in the studying realm. I have found it so hard to maintain my motivation. I can't stit a take in the information of a two-hour lecture or convince myself to be engaged with the classes. My assignments have been less to the last minute which is stressful and seeking assistance with work i don't understand has proven to not be easy.