FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Newbie with Social Anxiety

Tarlo
Community Member
Hello everyone. I'm here because my new psychologist suggested I try to find people online I can communicate with as I find it impossible to do so in real life due to anxiety. I'm not sure if this is the appropriate place, but it's the only place I know of. I'm 28 years old and have had anxiety, especially social anxiety, for pretty much my entire life. I have very little life experience as I don't leave my house much and never leave it when I'm alone. I've never had a job outside of a short stint at delivering pamphlets and catalogues to letterboxes which I did not enjoy doing. I went for my driver's license several years ago and my Ls expired before I ever developed the confidence to attempt getting my Ps. I don't have any friends besides my dear cat. I am, however, incredibly fortunate enough to have a supportive family who don't pressure me to be well.
I'm am very nervous about posting this and I'm in half a mind hoping nobody replies so I don't have to confront my fears.
8 Replies 8

Ebi
Community Member

Welcome Tarlo,

Well done for posting and for your honesty. I think you're going to find that this is a great place to meet people, communicate and be honest because most people will understand some of what you're going through and will have felt similar and different types of distress and pain. This is a non-judgemental space, which is why it is so special. I can tell you right now, we're all proud of you for posting.

Looking forward to reading more from you, Ebi

Tarlo
Community Member
Thank you for your reply and reassurance, Ebi. I really appreciate it.
It's going to be tough, but I will try my best.

Swan_13
Community Member

Hi Tarlo! Welcome