FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New member and nurse struggling

Nicole77
Community Member

Hi all I’m a nurse in regional Victoria and really struggling with work at the moment we don’t have any COVID positive cases in our hospital it the way our nursing has changed so much it’s really hard to deal with

I didn’t go to work today as I couldn’t cope with people I’m finding because of lockdown that when I have a few days off as I’m on my own at home I don’t want to go back to work and deal with all the rules and what we can and cannot do

I know everyone is struggling but feel like I’m letting the team down as some nurses are doing doubles and extra shifts and I can barely manage my seven shifts a fortnight

just need to chat thanks for reading this

6 Replies 6

Positive_vibes89
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Nicole welcome to the forum and thank you for posting. Firstly, thank you for your service as a nurse during these tough times that we have been experiencing in victoria, you may not feel it but you truely are valued. It takes a special person to be a nurse, you are indeed a caring and kind human being. Yes, nursing would have changed alot with all the extra safety precuations that must be taken. I feel like you need to eleborate more on what aspects of the rules are bothering you. I am a student nurse in my third year, it has been tough for me also. All my studies have been online and placements have been stopped or changed. Some hospitals will not accept students. Life is unknown at the moment, so much uncertainty it's difficult to know which direction your'e going. It seems like there could be other things that are impacting your willingness to work? Would you like to share with me more about what you are experiencing?

Tee

mmMekitty
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi Nicole77,