FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New & looking for advice - anxious mums post?

JayHasit
Community Member

Hi,

I’ve never used these forums before but I have quite a wait until I can see my psychologist and would love for some perspective to get me through… I find myself a failure this evening..

I have two young children, a preschooler and a baby who is exclusively breastfed and won’t take a bottle.
I find myself cornered at the moment between my rising anxiety and the unfortunate fact that my baby has refused the bottle so most things I could take to get a reprieve from my symptoms have either an unknown or negative impact on her. Ive spoken to my gp who was quite useless unfortunately, I was hoping for something herbal to start taking the edge off that is unlikely to have major symptoms on the baby but rather than opine on any of that he just offers me anxiety medication like it was an m&m…

I have found myself overwhelmed by my symptoms yet again this evening and underwhelmed by my coping strategies.
I am completely fine, until I am not, and then an anxious mess. Fight response my typical go to, desperately controlled and only just held back by my burning desire to not have to pick up the pieces of my husband and kids after they feel the wrath of my temporary outburst.

I don’t know if there is a thread for the postnatal period somewhere or mums?

My baby doesn’t sleep well and my preschooler doesn’t sleep during the day and I just feel trapped and that my body is at its limit. I am so on edge my body doesn’t have the willpower to fight myself and my thought patterns. The worthlessness roles in.